Winners of 2022 Premier’s Science Awards announced

Winners of 2022 Premier’s Science Awards announced

Congratulations to Australian Laureate Fellow and John Curtin Distinguished Professor Kliti Grice on being named Scientist of the Year at the 2022 Premier’s Science Awards, held on Monday August 29.

The awards are a keystone in the Western Australian government’s efforts to raise the profile of science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) in Western Australia. Over the years, awards alumni have become important ambassadors for the state, helping to inspire future generations to take up courses and careers in STEM.

Professor Grice is the founding Director of the Curtin-based Western Australian Organic and Isotope Geochemistry Centre, an internationally renowned organic chemist, and a mass extinction and evolution expert who has conducted world-leading research on Earth’s early life.


Hon Roger Cook MLA presenting Professor Kliti Grice with the Scientist of the Year award. Credits: Alana Blowfield Photography


A leading Australian scientist and pioneering female in STEM, Professor Grice’s research has helped answer long-standing questions about the origins of life on Earth, the evolution of species, the extinction of some dinosaurs, and the extent of microplastic pollution.

The winners of the 2022 Premier’s Science Award:

  • Professor Ajmal Mian (The University of Western Australia) — HBF Mid-Career Scientist of the Year;
  • Dr Qi Fang (Harry Perkins Institute of Medical Research/The University of Western Australia) — Woodside Early Career Scientist of the Year;
  • Nikhilesh (Nik) Bappoo (Harry Perkins Institute of Medical Research/The University of Western Australia) and Kathryn Ross (Curtin University) — Joint winners of ExxonMobil Student Scientist of the Year;
  • James Hill (The University of Western Australia/Telethon Kids Institute) and Tahlia Prior (Curtin University) — Shell Aboriginal STEM Student of the Year;
  • Autism Academy (Curtin University) and Marble Bar Virtual World (Marble Bar Primary School) — Chevron Science Engagement Initiative of the Year.

We join the science community in WA in offering our sincerest congratulations to all the winners and finalists.


Main image credits: Alana Blowfield Photography

By Mitchell Lim

Mitchell Lim is DUG's Scientific Content Architect. With a PhD in Chemical Engineering, Mitch is an expert in the fields of catalysis and ultrasonics. Full-time science geek, part-time fitness junkie, Mitch strives to deliver effective and engaging science communication, as he believes that easily digestible scientific perspectives have the potential to impact and benefit society at large.

DUG Technology